How To Unlock Flying In World of Warcraft: Shadowlands

With the release of patch 9.1 comes the release of Flying in the Shadowlands. Find out how to unlock flying ahead of time so you don’t get left stuck on the ground.

Flying mounts have become one of the most touchy subjects in the WoW community since they launched during the Burning Crusades. They’ve been a staple of every expansion since, though when they come out tends to vary. Recently, however, Blizzard has been dropping the ability to fly around these new zones in the first major patch of an expansion. Shadowlands, in that regard, is no exception.

How do you unlock Flying in Shadowlands?

Compared to previous expansions, Shadowlands has it pretty easy. You’ll need to complete your Covenant Campaign and that will unlock it. No reputation grinding this time. As of right now, the campaign ends at Renown level 22, however, patch 9.1 will bring a further 40 levels. We know that you’ll need to complete this new part of the campaign but there’s no word on how many weeks that will take.

Here’s what Game Director Ion Hazzikostas had to say:

“Shadowlands Pathfinder, which is coming in Chains of Domination, will not require any reputation. This is different from Pathfinder achievements from past expansions, it just requires completing your full Covenant campaign and the new chapters added in Chains of Domination. Once you’ve done that, you have mastered the overworld of Shadowlands, restored much of the Anima, and then you can earn the ability to fly within the Shadowlands.”

Can you fly anywhere in Shadowlands?

One limitation of flying in Shadowlands comes in the form of being limited to the zone you’re in. Sadly, that means no flying from zone-to-zone. This is a technical problem with Shadowlands, though whether you’ll have to fly into the zone as you currently do or if Blizzard has another solution is not known.

Can you fly in the Maw?

The Maw will remain strictly ground mounts only going forward. Though, with the Maw looking like it’ll stay one step behind the rest of the Shadowlands, we might just be able to fly in the zone one day.

When can I use Flying?

As with previous WoW expansions, Shadowlands will let you fly (apart from in the introduction quest) from level 50 onwards once you’ve unlocked it on one character. This will likely make Shadowlands questing a lot easier come 9.1

What are the Covenant flying mounts in Shadowlands?

Each Covenant will receive a unique flying mount, with a number of color variants of each. Below you’ll get an early look at what Blizzard has planned.


Featured image courtesy of Wowhead.

Source: Read Full Article