PC

Destiny 2 Cross-Save Is Live But Having Setup Issues

The much-anticipated ability to move your Destiny 2 progress between multiple platforms is expected to launch today, August 21. Specifically, Destiny 2 cross-save was set to go live alongside the daily reset, which happens at 10 AM PT. However, that time has passed without the arrival of cross-save, and Bungie has now postponed maintenance related to the new feature.

[Update: Bungie has provided another update on the launch, saying it would arrive at 12:30 PM PT / 3:30 PM ET / 8:30 PM BST (5:30 AM AET on August 22). Based on our experience, the cross-save page is now functioning as intended, letting you connect your accounts, pick which set of Guardians will be your “active” one, and begin playing on other platforms. Some players have reported issues with the authentication process, including “500” errors, but once you get it working, Destiny 2 cross-save works really well.]

In a post on Twitter, Bungie stated, “Today’s Bungie.net maintenance for Cross Save has been postponed.” It didn’t provide any further details than that, and given this maintenance is said to be tied to the Bungie.net website, it’s unclear if cross-save itself has been pushed back. If so, it’s similarly unclear how much longer the wait will be; there’s no time table provided for when plans will move ahead, with Bungie simply saying, “Please stand by for more information.”

Cross-save was announced earlier this year and will allow players to take their Guardians and acquired gear and progress freely between PC, PS4, and Xbox One. This is not, however, cross-play; you can’t play with a PS4 friend from your Xbox One, though one of you can jump on the other’s platform and pick up your progress.

However, doing so requires you to own the game on each platform where you want to play it. This is where things get slightly complex: A free-to-play version of Destiny 2 known as New Light is launching later this year. It was set for release in September, but it was then delayed until October 1 alongside the new Shadowkeep expansion. Using New Light, you’ll be able to move between any platform, but certain content–specifically, Shadowkeep and anything released since last year’s Forsaken expansion–will need to be purchased on each platform that you want to access that content on. And although Destiny 2’s PC version is transitioning to Steam, if you’re a console player who wants to jump into cross-save today, you’ll need to buy a bundled package on Blizzard Battle.net, and then move to Steam later.

It’s unclear at this point if cross-save will still go live today–the delay could be a matter of hours or days for all we know right now–but we’ll report back if and when it goes live. In the meantime, you can check out the new trailer for Destiny 2: Shadowkeep’s first season, which centers around the Vex.

Source: Read Full Article