PC

Rockstar Shuts Down GTA Online, Red Dead 2 Servers To Honor Of George Floyd

Rockstar Games is temporarily shutting down access to the online modes of its biggest games–GTA V’s Grand Theft Auto Online and Red Dead Redemption 2’s Red Dead Online–today for a period of two hours to show support for Black Lives Matter and to honor the slain George Floyd.

The servers for both games are now down (the downtime began at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET), and they will come back online at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET. The offline components for the two games should not be affected.

In addition to the gesture, Rockstar asked its Twitter followers to find a charity they can donate to in order to show support for black communities, businesses, and civil rights. Charities on the list include the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, National Black Child Development Institute, and the Equal Justice Initiative, as well as broader civil rights groups such as the American Civil Liberties Union Foundation.

Rockstar is the latest game company to show support for the Black Lives Matter movement, either through words, actions, or direct donations. Sony recently delayed its June 4 PS5 presentation in order to respect the ongoing protests, and in-game events for other multiplayer titles have been postponed, as well. GameSpot is supporting the Black Lives Matter movement as well through our Play For All events, and you can donate directly here.

GameSpot has officially kicked off Play For All–a celebration of all things gaming. Join us as we bring you the summer’s hottest news, previews, interviews, features, and videos, as well as raise money for COVID-19 relief efforts and Black Lives Matter with the help of our friends from around the gaming world. Check out the Play For All schedule for more.

Source: Read Full Article